Three weeks ago, I received a few suspicious messages from one of my friends in Sydney. They go:
“hey whats up? check this out !!!
http://cool.smy9.info
brb…”
And then I started getting these from a number of my Aussie friends. Looks like a bot would send a message from their account just before they went offline, and since I couldn’t get my warnings through when they were still online, I’ve had no choice but to block them off my list for the time being. The link would vary, but it’ll be something like:
http://just.cool.03phg.info
http://-username-.pics.skaq.info
http://-username-.images.05b7b.info
http://www.kfytsj.info/
http://www.rhqwcp.info/
http://www.cfkxrn.info/
http://www.mxbpkr.info/
… … and more of such nonsense
This Aussie-based page says that some of the links would ask for your MSN email and password to gain access to view some photos that the sender has supposedly uploaded. Although this site claims the spyware originates from email spam, I believe it can be spread via MSN as well, whether or not you actually click on the link. This morning, I received another such message from one of my friends in Singapore, and a few hours later a friend notified me that he received from me a similar message, advising me to check my computer. I carry out an anti-virus and anti-spyware scan every night, and so for this evening I ran one earlier than usual. So far it’s found a Trojan (’Generic 10.CRH’) and I’ve gotten rid of it. I’m not sure how it came through, since I’m using Trillian and not an actual MSN client, so I’m hypothesising that it’s linked to my Windows Live account. I’ve since changed my account password as well.